Visit to The Kings School, Ottery St Mary …

Monday 16th July 2007. It was a great visit. I was made to feel very welcome and I want to thank the Headteacher and the Head of English, and all the library staff for inviting me and organising my visit.

Since it was my first visit to a secondary school, it was a learning experience for me and I couldn’t have wished for a friendlier school in which to climb the learning curve.

Their Year 7 is about 180 students, in 6 classes, so I saw them all in two sessions of an hour each. I thought I would never fill a whole hour but in the first session I ran out of time. I timed the second session better.

It is commonly accepted that it is becoming harder and harder to get children reading books. Let’s hope a few at least will choose to read The Legend Of Aranrhod …

Leave a Reply

